Inspiration, Perspiration and Procrastination

 

Image

“Genius is one percent inspiration, and ninety-nine percent perspiration.”-Thomas A. Edison

Edison forgot one key element…procrastination, (at least in my case). I have been dealing with these three verbs since my last blog post. I’ll have to take you back a few weeks. I get inspired pretty easy to make items for people I love, and for people they love, and so on, but I also tend to procrastinate, which in turn, causes me to perspirate! 

I was busy thinking about Mother’s Day, and my wonderful mother who has an immense earring collection! Seriously, she was brought in as a guest speaker to a 4th grade classroom to display her earrings from around the world for a geography lesson. I wanted to make her something she didn’t have, uhh not easy! And wham! in the middle of the night inspiration struck, and I decided to make her pigs in a blanket! My mom has a wonderful sense of humor!

Image

Then I had my daughter, she and I have matching cherry blossom tattoos which we got to celebrate her 21st birthday. The above 3D art canvas of a cherry blossom branch extending across the two canvases I made for her. 

Then I had my bf whose mother likes owls, and who found a polymer clay book for me; even though, I have never met her before. So, of course, she had to have something from me for  Mother’s Day. 

 

 

Image

Needless to say, this little guy was just delivered yesterday! Here we are again, I was inspired to make a very detailed figurine (just the feathers took a couple of days), and I procrastinated, and i definitely perspired! Then of course there was my daughter’s mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law and my aunt who each got sculpted pens. 

And, what happened with my poor mother for Mother’s Day? I questioned my decision and decided to make her a second “nicer” item and…she as of now has gotten nothing!!! I love her so much, and I really let her down because of 3 verbs, no wait one verb, no that’s not right, 2 verbs, inspiration and procrastination. Why inspiration? I have learned that I can’t always do everything that pops into my head. If I tried I would be crazier than I am now! 

So, learn from my mistakes: Procrastination + Inspiration = Perspiration

 

5 responses to “Inspiration, Perspiration and Procrastination

  1. Your blog is amazing I’m just so proud of you

  2. Love your blog and your artwork! You are such a talent!

  3. I love your writing style Josette! Great job at both the blog AND the art!

Please Leave a Reply! I'd love to know what you're thinking!